The Beginning

On October 19 of 2013, My life changed. I meet a man at the Hike Inn who told me about the Peru Trip that I will be going on in 3 weeks. He asked everyone to share a bio about theirselves. I thought I would share mine with you…..  Each person was given the same task. It helps you get to know the people you will be working and serving with. I am excited and can’t wait to share my experience with you!

 

…”My name is April Stewart. I am 33 years old and I live in North Georgia. I have been married for 10 years to my high school sweetheart, Chris Stewart, that I have known since the 2nd grade. We have 2 cats and 2 dog and no children.

I have been a nurse since 2003 and I am currently a private surgical assistant and nurse for a private OB/GYN since 10/13/2005. I have worked in geriatric, pediatrics, family practice and women’s health . Women’s health hold a special place in my heart since I found out 4/2006 that I would never be able to have a child of my own. Then 10/2012 I found out I have Sjogren’s Syndrome which contributes to other challenges in my life. It was a hard time during my life while working in women’s health and seeing people get to experience a world-changing event of having a child. I was bitter for a long time. I didn’t understand what I now know what God was telling me. I have been selected to do something bigger in my life and use my skills and my testimony to help others and to witness to them God’s love and mercy.

I meet John (The team organizer and leader of the Peru Mission Trip) on a trip to the Hike Inn.  I saw on the Hike Inn Facebook page that they had several rooms available at the last-minute and I wanted to take my husband on a long weekend getaway. John spoke during a hiking program he held about a medical trip he goes on. I have been telling my husband for a long time I feel like a trip is out there for me and it will find me. When John spoke of the trip I felt a peace and a knowing that I instantly knew the mission he spoke of was for me.

I have never been on a mission trip of any kind before and it is has always been on my bucket list. My father went on one to Nicaragua and I wanted to go and experience an emotion, physical and spiritual challenge that he has told me that has changed his life. I am looking forward to this journey of a lifetime and a rewarding experience. I am in awe of this opportunity to come together with God’s people to make a difference in each person’s life that we meet including my own…”

Each person was given the same task. It helps you get to know the people you will be working and serving with. I am excited and can’t wait to share my experience with you!

~sweetireneskitchen

Leave a Reply

